Our pub expert tells her story

Remember the pub expert competition we had in Norway a couple of months ago? Here, the winner, Hanne Diana, tells her story about her whole week of pub crawling in Newcastle:
My name is Hanne Diana, I am 22 years old and I was the lucky winner of the NewcastleGateshead “pubexpert” competition. Winning this competition meant I got to travel to Newcastle for one week, visit lots of pubs, and when I got home I would write a pubguide for other Norwegian tourists. Who would not want a job like that?! I was so happy to be the winner, and I also got to bring a person with me – To all my friends disbelief I chose to bring my mom! We had a GREAT week, and here is a little info on what we filled our days with:

There was so much action going on the seven days we were down there, but I think I will start by telling you a little bit about our very first day: We met up with our “guide” for the week – Alistair Gilmore: A lovely man originally from Scotland, but living in Newcastle. He has written three books about beer and food, and so I think it is safe to say that this man knows his beer! Our first beer of the day we cracked open at a pub called “The sun in”. The funny thing about this pub is that it takes you back to the early 1900s and 1800s, even the people who work there are wearing clothes from way back when, so obviously that made it quite a funny, and not to mention a very different experience. After this we got to visit this little local brewery called “The Stables”. This was my first time at a brewery so it was quite interesting, and not to mention I learned a lot about the production of beer. Coming out of there, of course – I felt like a beer expert (still do).

As this day went by we visited a lot of different pubs, both in the city centre as well as a couple ones outside town. I got to drink som great beer, experience some great pubs, and we met up with plenty of very nice people. It was a great day and I thought Newcastle was a lovely place to be. The following days we checked out some more pubs, tasted different beers, and saw more of Newcastle. Besides that we also got to do some other interesting things: Like visiting “The Journal”. “The Journal” is one of Newcastle’s biggest local newspapers and for me who wants to be a journalist this could not have been more ideal. Alistair used to work there as a journalist, and even though he does not work there everyday anymore he still has his weekly column in the paper. This morning I got to talk to different people about their job, sit in at a news conference – basically, had the best time!

That same day we also got to see “Glenn McCrory`s international school of boxing”, wich was very fun. Glenn MCrory is a previous boxer, who won the world champion in 1989, and he now has his own gym. We got to chat with him, and to see him work. I have to  say that both me and mum developed a little crush.. – He was not just nice and charming you see, but also tall and big and had wonderful eyes. During this week Alistair also took us to a new opening, a design show. There I got to see some funny looking furniture, drink some nice wine, and I had a good night. All toghether our week in Newcastle could not have been any better, and besides experiening many great pubs and beers, we got to see an amazing city. I loved it.
Hanne Diana

Sounds like a great week! Please send us your personal tips, perhaps you have been pub crawling in another British city? And if you’re going to Oxford, make sure to try out their ultimate pub crawl, I sure did!

Have a Happy New Year everyone and I wish you all the best for 2010!

– Hanne –

Leave a comment

Filed under England, Food & Drink

Leave a Reply

