A Golfers Paradise, part 1

In love with St. Andrews

We are delighted to present our latest special guest on the blog. Swedish Celebrity, Måns Zelmerlöw, went to Scotland and fell in love with the people, the nature and of course – the golf. Follow him the next days as we will publish five posts that covers his entire trip. Scotland welcomes you back Måns!

,Johannes Karlsson

I never thought that I would be so delighted. I was stunned by the nature, the people and the country and I’m now determined to return soon, very soon. Even though I only experienced a small peace of Scotland, I’m still overwhelmed. Six rounds of golf, a hotel and a small city centre by night made me feel so much love for this country.

St. Andrews is a picturesque town, it’s a nice mixture of older beautiful buildings, modern university architecture, genuine Scottish pubs, and quite a few golf shops. It’s obvious that golf has a great impact here. One of the oldest courses in the world, The Old Course lays just a stone’s throw away.

The Old Course Hotel is situated at the 17th hole and the view is spectacular. There’s really nothing to complain about here. The staff is always helpfull and in a good mood, the food is great and the Kohler Spa is a perfect place to relax after a round of golf.

The courses in and around St. Andrews has everything that you could wish for. You’ll find fairways as short cut as greens back home, the deepest bunkers I’ve ever seen and stunning views of the sea and the Scottish wide open landscape. The greens made me think of the E4 motorway in Sweden and there’s no stopping of the ball after a nice approach game, at least not for me.

I have to admit that it wasn’t a round of dram golf for me here. After six rounds I leveraged 23 points per round. If I only could blame it on the wind! During five days at St. Andrews the wind was only blowing one day and to me it seemed like a storm. The people of St. Andrews called it a “light breeze”.

The journey, Thursday
Me and my friend arrived to Edinburgh via Amsterdam. We picked up our rental car and headed for the Mecca of golf. The trip was going to take 40 minutes but we landed on the double, even though we had a map and a GPS. We missed tee-off at The Dukes but the hotel helped and arranged a new time. After a plate of bangers and mash at the hotel pub, The Jigger Inn, it was time to tee-off again. I had heard horror stories about other Swedish players that made trial swings at first tee just to get thrown of the course. Hence I avoided doing this and as a result I duffed the drive half way to the ladies tee. And all this in front of a increasingly sceptic Scottish starter.

The Dukes has quite a few really nice holes but the course didn’t entirely convince me about the greatness of the Scottish courses. It could easily be compared to a good Swedish course, with long, wide fairways and beautiful views. But I was missing that little extra.

The planned afternoon powernap turned into a 12 hour deep sleep and I missed out on both dinner and whisky tasting.

See you soon,
Måns Zelmerlöw

Leave a comment

Filed under Accommodation, Nature & Heritage, Scotland, Sports & Activities

Leave a Reply

