Norwegian bloggers – win a trip to Aberdeen!

Are you a Norwegian blogger with dreams of becoming the next big travel writer? Do you have a sense of adventure, like to travel and then tell all of your friends and family about your experiences once you’re back home? If so, then what are you waiting for?  Get blogging!

VisitScotland is calling all Norwegian bloggers to put their skills to use to win a 3 night Scotland trip to Aberdeen and surrounds to become the national tourist board’s ‘Aberdeen and Shire blogger’.  

So if you’re a social networking enthusiast with a passion for prose, take to your keyboard and say in no more than 30 words, why you should win a trip to become our Aberdeen City and Shire blogger.  Not only do you win a trip to Scotland with Eastern Airways, but we want you to write a blog about your adventures on your return, where you will be given a guest spot on Mind The Gap during April for you to inspire others to follow in your footsteps.

So if you think you have what it takes to become our winning blogger, you and a companion of your choice can enjoy a 3 night stay in Aberdeen’s Jury’ Inn which is only a short walk to the shops where you can spend your shopping discount vouchers.  You will also get an Avis rental car and a National Trust Scotland pass so you can drive around and visit all the gardens of stunning properties like Craigievar or Fyvie Castle. For more information on Aberdeen City and Shire and to double your chances to win a trip to Aberdeen, please click here.

The winner will be selected on 31st January 2010 and the prize must be taken by 31st March 2010.  By taking part, the winner agrees to blog in no less than 400 words about their trip on Mind The Gap by 31st April 2010. 

By entering your 30 words below in the comments box, you agree to our terms and conditions which can be viewed here. Remember to sign your comment with your full name and the city you live in.

The best of luck to all you Norwegian bloggers out there!

– Hanne –

100 Comments

Filed under News

100 responses to “Norwegian bloggers – win a trip to Aberdeen!

  1. Eirin Larsen

    I am a 21 year old female journalism student from Stavanger. In addition to my passion for writing I am also deeply in love with the british islands. I’ve been to England and Ireland, but sadly I’ve still never managed to visit Scotland, and I REALLY want to! I’ll be bringing my boyfriend who also is a dedicated anglophile.

  2. Havard Gautneb

    Aberdeen would a be a great city to visit, I have never been in that part of Scotland

    Havard Gautneb
    Trondheim

  3. knut johannessen

    I have visited Glasgow a couple of years ago. I really enjoyed it.
    I would love to take a closer look at Aberdeen this time.

  4. Kenneth Haraldsen Bjøreng

    I visited Aberdeen back in 2002, after visiting Lerwick on The Shetland Islands.
    Unfortunately we didn’t have time to see the city.

    I would love to go back and maybe catch a football game as well.

    Best regards

    Kenneth Haraldsen Bjørneng
    Oslo

  5. Anne Leinum

    Scotland: the country on my most-wanted list my husband would not mind visiting too. Castles, spa, shopping, dram, hunting and fishing. A destination needs variety for us travel together!

    Anne Leinum
    Malvik

  6. Knut Haugland

    I wonder if the people from Aberdeen speak English like us Norwegians. From British television shows it sounds like they can pronounce the letter R “correctly”. 🙂

    Knut Haugland
    Oslo

  7. Rolf Albrechtsen

    Det å kunne reise fra Bergen til Aberdeen ja det må bare oppleves.Her møte du hyggelige mennesker, en by med mange opplevelser alt må oppleves kun en time fra Bergen så er du der.Du angrer ikke.

  8. Peder Mathisen

    Hi
    Im a 31 year old plumber, that like a good time. Im now ready for the northern part of the British Isles. I has been around much of the north sea, but never Scotland!

    Peder Mathisen
    Skedsmokorset

  9. Gunn Angelskår

    I’d love doing Aberdeen, visit distillery and pub, do shopping, taste Angus beef, look at the snooker at Rileys, check Rubislaw Terrace for a game of bridge. Looking forward already!

  10. I’ve always wanted to go to Aberdeen for a couple of days, and this is a great opportunity to visit. I’m also a frequent blogger, and I love writing about my trips! And I take A LOT of pictures!

    -TGilberg-

  11. And my name is Toril Gilberg, and I live in Stokke, Norway.

  12. Geir Ambro

    February darkness, Granite City– visiting a city reviving from winter, aided by liquid, smoked, golden amber. Coming south to Aberdeen catch the dying darkness of winter, is celebrating life.

  13. Turid Lismoen

    Seen most of the fair British Isles.
    But Aberdeen? I’ve never been.

  14. Norwegian blogger with 1.000 readers monthly. The travel part of that blog so far is from Tuscany, incl. videos. Would love to expand on travel blogging and wouldn’t mind a few days back in Scotland.

  15. Bente Atkinson

    I’d love to go to Aberdeen and blog here on Mind the gap:-) I love travelling, scottish single malt, snooker, fishing and taking photos to show where i’ve been.

  16. Roar Vinje

    We went to Dinnet, Ballater, Balmoral and Dunnottar Castle last year, but we just drove through Aberdeen, a mistake we would like to rectify. We just love Scotland.

  17. Bente Atkinson

    I’d love to travel to Aberdeen and blog on Mind the gap. My favourite interests are: travelling, fishing, snooker, single malt whiskey, and taking photos.

    Bente Atkinson
    Oslo/Bergen from January 2010;-)

  18. Helen Ness Gow

    ……Because I love the Granite City and the Northern Lights of Auld Aberdeen and because
    I can decode the Norwegian mentality….. I have
    read a bit in Lonely Planet (style)

  19. Gunnar Staalen

    I lived in Britain thirty years ago fulfilling my English studies. We were in Glasgow and Edinburgh , but not in Aberdeen. I should like to go there to see the little city and to study influence from the oil industry and the impact it has on life in Scotland

  20. Gunnar Staalen

    I should like to study how the oil industry influence the Scottish way of living.
    I have been to Scotland thirty years ago, but now life in Scotland is very different (?).

  21. Helen Ness Gow

    Oslo, Norway

  22. Hi!
    I am a norwegian blogger, 30 years old female, with about 300 readers per day in my regular blog.

    Both in my job (I am a musician), and in holidays (I love travelling!) I travel a LOT, so I am very used to travelling, an I do love Britain!
    At least once a year I go to London, but I haven´t seen so many other places in Britain.
    I have been to Aberdeen one time, just two days, many years ago, and would really like to go back and discover more!
    I would of course write about it in my blog anyway, but it would be really cool to write about it as a “job”.
    I also do take good pictures, and I really think I am the person you are looking for! 🙂

    Please, check out my blog (it´s in norwegian.), look at the “reise”, “london”, “paris”, “tunisia”, “monaco” “venezia”, “milano” parts -and then send me to Aberdeen! 😉

    Yours, Lene:)

  23. Charlotte Vaagen

    I have lived in Scotland 4 7 months, but I didn`t fullfill my helicopter dream; 2 land on a Norwegian ship @ the pilot station W of ABZ. Harbour…I still would like 2 go back and have that done!!!!!!!

    I do have pictures fm. the country already; single malt trial, scenery, Edinburgh, Military Tattoo, river tubing, planes/helicopters…

  24. Charlotte Vaagen

    I have lived in Scotland 4 7 months, but I didn`t fullfill my helicopter dream; 2 land on a Norwegian ship @ the pilot station W of ABZ. Harbour…I still would like 2 go back and have that done!!!!!!!

  25. Asbjørn Wille

    I love Britain and I would like to feel, taste and see the exciting city of Aberdeen. Meet the people and blogg about a city which has so many conections to Norway. And of course see the boys in red.

  26. Susanne Hartvåg

    Aberdeen: Piercing wind, everything grey, and rain. But also the amazingly warm and inviting people, the architecture, the stunning light on the golf course by the beach. I love Aberdeen.

  27. Ole Petter Malvig

    I could list many reasons why?! But……
    I would really like to discover the greath land of Scotland and especially Aberdeen. But again..I would love to write about it. Bring me to Scotland, and then I will bring others to Scotland with my blogging.

    Cheers!

  28. Johanne Michaelsen

    I love Scotland, but now it is a long time since my last visit. Aberdeen was in 1980. I want to see wath the oil industri has done to the town.

  29. Wibekke Mulstad

    There is no place like Scotland, the people and the culture is amazing, my daughter and I wold love to visit Aberdeen, and we can write from lots of angles ; )

  30. I fell in love with Scotland visiting it a year ago, and for that reason I want a chance to go back and visit my old love =)
    Scotland = the best!

  31. Sverre Anderssen

    I would loved to bring my girfriend to Aberdeen to discover the culture, arcitecture, people together with the nice atmosfare in the City

  32. Torje Dalen

    As a former student at The University of Aberdeen (81- 85) I will like to say that I could bring a lot of good stuff in to this Blog everything from Pub’s to the fames fish market.

  33. Gerd Hønningstad

    Now I have got the chance. I am half Scottish, and have several cousins in Aberdeen, where my mum grew up. My cousins and I want to have a reunion, we have spoken of this for long, and now I have a chance to meet them all. What a wonderful idea.
    I will blog everything that happens, and would love to do it. Give me a chance, a chance of my lifetime.
    Love Gerd

  34. I’m writing a series of novels, partially set in Scotland. I used to live in Cheltenham, and travelled to other parts of the UK, (to interview with other writers), including Edinburgh and Glasgow. But I never got to see Aberdeen, so I would love the chance to go there, and write about the experience.
    http://www.ildfuglen.net

  35. Pervez Ahmad

    I never have been in Scotland, but i want to visit the beautiful cities.
    I would loved to bring my wife to Aberdeen to discover the culture, arcitecture, people together with the nice atmosfare in the City.
    I would really like to discover the greath land of Scotland and especially Aberdeen. But again..I would love to write about it. Bring me to Scotland, and then I will bring others to Scotland with my blogging.

  36. Niklas Ljungberg

    Hi!

    I´m a Norwegian student from Sarpsborg, I study to be a social worker with my girlfriend in Lillehammer, the Olympic City. As I am a student, the money is short 10 months a year, and I can`t suprise my lovley girlfriend with gifts, so this would be a great opportunity to give her a great Christmas gift! And none of us have ever been to Scotland. I believe myself and my girl deserve to win this! Please pick us!!!

  37. I’m a 21 year old girl, currently studying International Communication. Some of my great passions in life is to write, travel, to experience and explore! I’d love to visit Scotland.

  38. Is Scotland still the” Brave heart” ??

  39. Magne H. Nordskog

    Spent some time in Aberdeen during offshore work some years ago, and would really like to go back to find my local “old” pub and other attractions, this time together with my wife and show her around in beautiful Scotland.

  40. I am fond of travelling, and I like to share my experience with family and friends, that’s why I publish some of my impressions on my website.

  41. I’ve started my own travel[blog] and would love to add Aberdeen as one of my destinations 🙂 I just love UK!

  42. Trond Betten

    Me and my wife goes to Scotland every year! The children loves it! Give us the chance to convince people you do not have to go to Gran Canaria for a perfect vacation. First time the children said; “Scotland?!? Why?” Now they bring new friends year after year, and the all love it! We know why, and we can tell the rest of the world!

  43. Freelance photographer,- love traveling and new challenges.
    I first met my husband at Aberdeen Airport …
    15 years ago.
    If I do win, I will surprise him, and invite him along.

    Regards,
    Gunn White.
    Stavanger.

  44. Bj Sørensen

    Hello there

    I had the pleasure of spending a year in Scotland, on and off as a young seaman, more than thirty years ago.
    This was in the still early days of the oil-industry, before Aberdeen was called “the granite city”. We could spend weeks in Aberdeen between each mission in the north sea. In the week-ends we would go to places like Palace Dancing.Everybody was extremely friendly wherever I went, leaving Aberdeen and Scotland as one of my fondest memories. Although I have visited Britain several times since, life has never so far taken me back to Scotland and Aberdeen. I would love to go there again.

  45. I love Aberdeen, I have been there 5 times the past 3 years.
    We go to shop, eat good meals and have fun!
    But I have not been a turist, and looked outside Aberdeen, I would love to go!

  46. Siri Midtbøen

    Hi!
    I’ve never been close to a blog in my life… But maybe this is the beginning. I love to travel, never seen Scotland though, what a shame. Since I’m short of money, winning a tripp could be my chance.

  47. Warm dark beer and cosy pubs,
    Castles, mountains, yappy dugs,
    The Shire as seen from bennachie,
    Butteries, scones and cups of tea,
    Highland games and Hairy cows,
    18 holes if time allows

    Fergus McDowall,
    Oslo, Norway

  48. Merete Tobiassen

    Hi!

    I’m a woman whose deeply in love with the Scotish culture, people and nature. I have never visited Scotland and i’d love to write about it

  49. Donna Stevens

    Imagine exploring the Castle Trail- history, tales, centuries of tradition. Colourful blogging sparks curiosity/enthusiasm, motivates envious readers to make Aberdeen and Shire their next travel destination. What an adventure!

  50. Grethe Dingstad

    We have visited Scotland many times, but we never get bored! Aberdeen is a beautiful city, and we would love to take a new trip there and write about it too! Earlier we have written 30 personal books about our holidays around the world!

  51. Liv

    My story will be the mix between Norwegian adventurous traveler who is experienced with pulsing city life and climbing mountain high, meeting the weatherproof and comprehensive Scottish culture and nature.
    Liv Brekkenes, Oslo

  52. Kiwisplasj

    My sister and me has traversed most of the British Isles and seen what it has to offer, but so far Aberdeen has eluded us. By choosing us you’ll get a humorous tale of our days and experiences with the city and its people. We’ll also give you a more in depth view of what Aberdeen has to offer in comparison with the rest of Great Britain.

  53. Elsa Marthinsen

    I’m coming! I have never been to Aberdeen, but if that town is half of Edinburgh, it is absolutt signifikant. Yes, I want to be there as your guest together with my man.

  54. Aud

    Jeg vil gjerne bli the Aberdeen and Shire blogger. Jeg skriver alltid privat logg på mine reiser og jeg vil mer enn gjerne dele min opplevelse med andre på blogg.

  55. Siw

    I know my way through Union Street, but Aberdeen is so much more than just shopping. And I like to make my private travelog with photos. Why not share?

  56. I am a crazy,catloving, gardendigging, rosesniffing,careerchasing and hardworking mother and wife. I blog about my life, well as I say: “the mess in my life and garden”.
    I have a collegue that always brags about the gardens in Aberdeen and that they are so much better than the Norvegian once. I think we need a Norwegian blogger to find out!

  57. Jørgen Dahl

    I was travelling around Scotland some years ago but didn’t have time to visit Aberdeen. This would be an excellent opportunity to visit this town together with my girlfriend

  58. Svein Gård

    I love travelling, have study in the US at college and travelling around in America as long in Asia. Have relatives living in Aberdeen but have never been over there and would love to go. They have always come here to our family and this time it could be mine turn. . . .

    Regard Svein

  59. Anders Wengen

    Yes, I want to Scotland go,
    to harvest culture, wind and snow.
    Drink the oil and kick a duck,
    and maybe try a local
    dish

    Anders, Oslo

  60. Ye Highlands, and Ye Lawlands – o wo hay Ye bin?
    I should win this blogging contest – therefore – that I can sing!

    I’m 49,a teacher – who teaches kids to blog!

  61. I want to pick a number in this lottery. My life needs adventures, and I am a big fan of traveling, dreaming, smelling, feeling, looking, tasting, participating and fixing golden moments into mind.

    I have been traveling a lot in Spanish-talking areas of this world, but I never been to the British Islands.

    My everyday-life takes part in the beautiful landscape of little toddlers, and I enjoy putting words to their small and big experiences. I also find a lot of pleasure in describing and giving away the world by writing and blogging. My hope and dream is to win this contest!

    Solfrid Sønsteby – Oppegård

  62. I want to pick a number in this lottery! I find a lot of pleasure in describing and giving away the world by writing and blogging.

    Solfrid Sønsteby – Oppegård

  63. I cover Britain on my beer/travel blog, but a visit to Aberdeen is long overdue. Thousands of readers in Norway and across Europe. The innovative BrewDog brewery is a must stop.

    Knut Albert Solem, Oslo

  64. Anita Norhall

    Colorful blogging and lovely photos I can promise to you
    I will provide from the exciting things in Aberdeen I will do.
    If you choose me – you won’t be blue!

    Anita Norhall, Råholt

  65. Bard O Haland

    I don’t think I’ve ever won anything, so if I did this time it’s surely something to write home about.

    And I can write – after all I’m a Bard.

  66. Any chance to visit Scotland, and I’m in. And I do love Aberdeen.

    Ragnhild S. Lervik, Trondheim

  67. Recently I bought me a new camera, so I can just dream about a vacation… But as a norwegian viking, I am ready for new challences – with good creative humor…!

  68. Arne Paulsen

    Been to Scotland or England every year for the last seven, but never to Aberdeen. Will, however, land at the airport in Sept. on my way to Inverness on my yearly whisky tour. Would be nice though to get to know Aberdeen better.

  69. Monica

    Aberdeen is calling – I would love to be there
    let us be the ones to see and share
    we have the passion! you have the power
    we are your travellers, you the “allower”

    I love to write and specially blogs
    in English mostly, for people and dogs
    we will search the adventure and love Aberdeen
    and at the end we will share what we have seen

  70. Elin Rotevatn

    How wonderful to be able to explore the contrasts of grand Aberdeen. The massive, gray granite, the lovely green parks, the fine arts and theaters and the lively pubs.

  71. Eagerly awaiting the results….

  72. Towe

    Hi Knut,

    thank you for your comment and interest in the competition. We will notify the winner in an e-mail as soon as we’ve made the final decisions together with Visit Scotland. When the winner has accepted, we will announce who it was.

    Best regards,
    Towe
    VisitBritain

  73. With the risk of sounding grumpy, I would define a blogger as someone who has an active blog. What is your definitition?

    Knut

  74. Massive topic dude!
    Thats why i love this site so much!

  75. Towe

    Hi Knut Albert,

    Firstly I want to say that we like your blog, and have been reading it before. Unfortunately, this time we chose to pick another winner.

    I am sorry that you feel ruled out. What we were looking for was a keen social media fan with an eye for prose and, as it is stated in the terms and conditions for the competition “The best comment will be selected to win the trip to Aberdeen”. We picked a person who expressed a desire to visit Aberdeen and tell his story in an exciting way when he comes home. Both we and VisitScotland felt that the winner expressed a motivation that fitted with that description.

    Good luck with your blog and I hope I’ll see you out there in the social media world.

    Kind regards,
    Towe Ejsing
    VisitBritain

  76. Turid Lismoen

    And the winner is…??

  77. Towe

    Hi Turid,

    The winner was announced on the winnerpage: http://www.visitbritain.no/competitions/Vinnere.aspx. His name is Asbjørn Wille and he won because of his motivation “I love Britain and I would like to feel, taste and see the exciting city of Aberdeen. Meet the people and blogg about a city which has so many connections to Norway. And of course see the boys in red.”

    Thanks for entering the competition and hope you have a nice weekend.

    Cheers,
    Towe

  78. Elin

    Congratulations to the winner!

    An excellent text, but I’m very surprised that you chose a winner who did not follow your own rules. I quote: “say in no more than 30 words”, it’s much easier to write a text when you don’t have this limit.

    Anyway, next time we’ll all know that competition rules are optional on Visit Britain, and can behave accordingly.

  79. Turid Lismoen

    Thank you. But what happened to the condition “say in no more than 30 words”? The winner said it in as many as 40 words.

  80. And how many words did he use?

  81. I am a Norwegian blogger who feels that there is something fishy with this competition.

    First of all: You were looking for a blogger. The winner is not a blogger, so I agree when Knut Albert asks retorically what a blogger is.

    Then there are the rules. Use “no more than 30 words, why you should win a trip to become our Aberdeen City and Shire blogger”, you stated. The winner used more than the allowed 30 words. He broke the rules, and you made him a winner. Shame on you!

  82. Towe

    Hello competitors.

    First of all, it is great to see that so many of you are engaged in this competition! Second, you are right. The winning comment was actually too long. We sincerely apologise for having missed this.

    To compensate, we give everyone who took part in this competition a new chance to win! Please visit this page again in a couple of days and we will have a new competition up and running exclusive for you guys who took part in the previous competition.

    Again, we apologise for the mistake and wish you good luck in the new competition.

    Best regards,
    VisitBritain

  83. So, here we go again. As our winner Asbjorn’s excellent winning comment was actually too long, we have decided to host this competition again. This time it is only open for you who competed but were not successful last time around. So, this is your great chance to win a trip to Aberdeen City and Shire!

    The prize is the same as last time. The winner and a companion win flights to Scotland, a 3 night stay in Aberdeen’s Jury’ Inn and shopping discount vouchers. He/she will also get a rental car and a National Trust Scotland pass so he/she can drive around and for example visit all the gardens of stunning properties in the area. For more information on Aberdeen City and Shire, please click here.

    So for your chance to win, answer this question in no more than 30 words (and believe us, we will be counting this time!): If you win and get to blog for us, how will you present Aberdeen City and Shire to attract Norwegian tourists?

    The winner will be selected on 31st March 2010 and the prize must be taken by 31st October 2010. By taking part, the winner agrees to blog in no less than 400 words about their trip on Mind The Gap by the end of 2010. By entering your 30 words below in the comments box, you agree to our terms and conditions. Remember to sign your comment with your full name and the city you live in.

    Better luck this time!
    Best regards
    VisitBritain

  84. Roar Vinje

    I love to travel, but I love telling others about the trip even more. Thereby I relive the trip and make the experience even better. A good trip deserves years.

    Roar Vinje
    Trondheim

  85. Aberdeenshire – the place for Noggins who love
    nature, friendly folks, whisky & granite architecture. Music scene is worth a visit with or
    without the Northern Lights of auld Aberdeen.

  86. Norwegians should have no trouble with the Doric. Aberdonian dialect is full of words left
    by the Vikings eg dram, flit (flytte), cloot (klut),
    keek (kikke), siccar (sikker), and een (øyne).

  87. I’ve loved Aberdeen since I first visited. I’d be thrilled to share its magnificent architecture, its friendly pubs and Aberdeenshire’s fabulous nature with your readers and mine.

  88. Liv Brekkenes

    My story will be the mix between Norwegian adventurous traveler who is experienced with pulsing city life and climbing mountain high, meeting the weatherproof and comprehensive Scottish culture and nature.

  89. A friendly neighbour just a short flight away. City streets, shopping, museums, pubs, castles, scenery and golf. Aberdeen has something for everyone.
    Bored by the beach? Try Scotland!

  90. Bard O Haland

    It might look grey, but it isn’t. Aberdeen has got something for everyone. Past, present and future – it’s alive.

  91. Eirin Larsen

    To attract norwegian tourists I will use my weird typically-norwegian bad sense of humor. And take a LOT of great pictures!

  92. Bente Atkinson

    Would love to win – I’m ready to go:-)

  93. Gunn Angelskår

    I’d love to visit Aberdeen, taste local whiskies, beer and Angus beef, look at the snooker at Rileys, check Rubislaw Terrace for a game of bridge. Looking forward already!

  94. Gunn Angelskår

    I still want to visit Aberdeen, taste local whiskies and Angus beef, look at the snooker at Rileys, check Rubislaw Terrace for a game of bridge, take photos and blog!

  95. Peder Mathisen

    Aberdeen, a place of relaxation and bubbling life worthy of a visit. And me, a norwegian blogger anxious to find if he can stomach eating haggis

  96. knut johannessen

    Scotland and Norway are closely linked, historically and today; through the oil business. Having visited Glasgow it’s time to see some more of bonny Scotland!

  97. Gunnar Staalen

    Thirty years ago I visited Scotland , but now it has changed because of oil industry and passing of a lifetime. Preserve the green pastures and the traditional architecture of Scotland.

  98. Bj Sørensen

    The generous hospitality, combined with lots of aspects regarding Scottish life seeming exotic and exiting to Scandinavians, will kew them up for tickets after reading my blog on MtG.

  99. Once again, we are eagerly waiting for the judgement!

  100. Towe

    We would like to congratulate the winner of the second Aberdeen competition –Liv Brekkenes from Oslo.

    She won because of her reason “My story will be the mix between Norwegian adventurous traveller who is experienced with pulsing city life and climbing mountain high, meeting the weatherproof and comprehensive Scottish culture and nature”, which we thought gave an intriguing blend of what she wanted to do on her trip to Aberdeen City and Shire. It will be interesting to see what comes out of her trip.

    Thanks to all of you who entered the competition. Congratulations Liv and to the rest of you – better luck next time!

Leave a Reply

