A weekend in Manchester

Remember we had a competition where you could design your own sneakers and win a trip to Manchester? Lone was our Danish winner, and she wants to share her trip with us:
Manchester, 25 - 27 sept. 2009 153.jpg, webWe had a great trip! And the people of Manchester were friendly and helpful towards us. Especially when it came to a couple of Danes who had some difficulties with buying tickets for the tram at Salford Qaeys. I wasn’t aware that the tram drove on the left side until a friendly person told me that I was waiting in the wrong direction! Compared to Copenhagen, I got the impression that the people of Manchester are really friendly when it comes to helping out a single tourist such as myself.

Manchester, 25 - 27 sept. 2009 024.jpg,China Town, web
We stayed at the hotel Arora, which was a fantastic hotel. We could walk from the train station to the hotel in nice surroundings. The buildings showed a different kind of city. It was exciting to live in the middle of Manchester’s China Town. The first evening we went to the famous restaurant Yang Sing in Princess Street, which really lived up to its expectations. We were lucky to get a table even though we hadn’t booked ahead.

Manchester,Salford Qaeys III, 25 - 27 sept. 2009 096.jpg, webThe next day, Laura got ill so I had to walk around the city on my own. I went to Daniel Liebkinds Imperial War Museum at Trafford Road, that was great, both indoors and outside! I passed by The Lowry and a modern bridge that looked like something Normann Foster could have made. This entire quarter was exciting, and it was nice to walk by the river in the windy weather. In the afternoon I had some time to walk around on the other side of Princess Street and into The Manchester Art Museum. That day was the opening of an exhibition with female surrealist artists, with the intersting American Merle Oppenheim and the famous Mexican painter Frieda Kahlo. There was also a statue in the more modern part of the gallery of the famous English sculptor Anthony Gomley. We ate dinner at a Chinese restaurant close to the hotel.

Manchester, 27 sept. 2009 141.jpg, webSunday we walked through the Northern parts of Manchester where there were lots of people in the streets and a Brazilian band with dancers. We got to see both the Manchester Cathedral and Urbis. If I could have had more time, I definitely would have taken a day trip to Liverpool, a city my parents visited in the 50’s.

Manchester was a great city, and now I’m looking forward to receiving my sneakers with my very own design!
Regards, Lone.

If you want to read more about what to do in Manchester, click here.
And for all you football fans, read more about Manchester United and Manchester City.

– Hanne –

2 Comments

Filed under England, News

2 responses to “A weekend in Manchester

  1. Gunnar Staalen

    Almost all Norwegians look to Manchester to see the football club and the great enthusiasm about the sport. A visit there would be a highlight og the day.

  2. Randi-Elisabeth Dalhaug

    My grandson at 11 year is a great footballentusiast,and Manch.United is THE TEAM he really admire! So last year at his 10years birthday my present to him was a 4days trip to Manchester. We had a great stay and spent 2 days at Old Trafford. The guidet tour was great,even if I am not a football entusiast I had a splended time!
    My grandson was the youngest partisipant and the guide spent a lot of ettension to him,told jokes about the football players etc. (: We would love to go back!!

Leave a Reply

