Classic Britain – A winners travel tale, Part Three

St Albans

St Albans

In this last part of Ingemar Erikssons trip to England, we read about his last days in England, when he by accident find himself in the middle of a carnival. Check it out:

”Sunday. Went to St Albans, which was the total opposite of Luton. I visited the fantastic cathedral and took a walk through the city.

The visit in St Albans was too short, but I wanted to be in time for the race at United. Unfortunately I got stuck in traffic because of a car accident, so I just saw half the old Mini race, but I saw the whole new Mini race. The winner was a Swede!

After a last tour around the festival area I drove towards Oxford, which unfortunately was total disaster from a driver’s point of view. I passed Woodstock (Blenheim Palace), Burford and Kelmscott with one goal – To drive the around the River Thames. I was supposed to start at Pangbourne, but I messed that up, and it was dark when I arrived, so I drove back to Luton.

Next day I had the choice to go back and do the tour around the River Thames or stay in Luton and watch ‘Luton Carnival’. Chose the Carnival and that was a real adventure. Carnival processions from all corners of England was there with amazing costumes and masks in the parade.

Luton Carnival

After the carnival I drove back to Harwich and took the boat back home. The voyage was problem free, as well as the drive. The weather was good so I decided to drive with the top down over the Öresund Bridge, even in the tunnel. A very unpleasant experience as the echo from the tunnel top was hard and annoying for four kilometres. The last part of the drive was better when I took the ‘scenic route’ through Gränna and Ödeshög.

General impressions of England:
The traffic in England gives me mixed feelings. Nice little roads, perfect for the Mini! But most roads are covered on both sides with hedges, which give you a feeling of driving in a ditch and you can’t see the beautiful nature on the other side. Sometimes the hedges end and then it’s a great drive, reminding me of Scania. British traffic signs are annoying – very good when you’re supposed to slow down, not good at all when you are allowed to speed up. Combined with all the cameras it was quite a terrifying experience, mainly because of the lack of information. Another problem was cars parking everywhere, blocking roads, parking on the wrong side of a road etc, making a mess of traffic that I’m not used to in Sweden. The new M1 from M25 to Luton was probably the best motorway I’ve ever seen.

The general impression of England was really good. Prices are good from a tourist point of view, since the Swedish Crone is stronger than the pound. Nice countryside and good roads. There are a lot of attractions, which makes England interesting to travel in. I think I am going to travel more by car in the English countryside sometime.”

Burford

Burford

Links to the places Ingemar visits in part three:

St Albans
River Thames
The official Guide to River Themes
Oxford
Blenheim Palace
Burford
Kelmscott Manor
Luton International Carnival

Leave a comment

Filed under Attractions & Culture, England, Nature & Heritage

Leave a Reply

