Classic Britain – A winners travel tale, Part Two

In part two Ingemar finally reaches Silverstone, and he has a lot to tell about the festival:

“On Friday morning I start driving towards Silverstone, but first I make a stop in Northampton to get more cash and visit their City Museum, where I learn that people thought London was supposed to grow all the way out to Northampton in the 1960s.

Stowe Gardens

Stowe Gardens

When I arrive at Silverstone, I check in at MINI United and take a walk around Silverstone. There’s a lot to see, like the ‘Racing-tent’ with Swedish drivers, MINI history from 1959 to 2009, where you could see MINI in different shapes in time, a presentation of all the Minis that are on the market right now, the many MINI-clubs but not the Swedish, and a big tent with restaurant, selling of original parts, merchandise and tickets to different MINI-events.

I leave the festival at around 6 pm to drive down to Luton. I take the road through Stowe and Buckingham and end up in Bletchley Park at Milton Keys. I recognized the name from the history books and hoped to find a museum or something, but the only thing I found was a gate with security guards and cameras. Not very hospitable, probably still military. So I left Milton Keys very fast.

I found cheap bedrooms at Quality Hotel Luton Airport, which despite the name was situated in the town centre. The hotel parking was perfect and the hotel was fine, but beyond that, Luton is a very dull place and not recommendable for tourists.

Grand Union Canal, Stoke Bruerne

Grand Union Canal, Stoke Bruerne

The next day I go back to United to get tickets for an event at the festival. After that I take a drive passed Towcester Racecourse and end up in the beautiful village of Stoke Bruerne, where I visited the Grand Union Canal, a museum well worth the visit if you’re into history.

Back at the festival I find a new toy called ‘the Trikke’, which can best be described as down-hill skiing on wheels. I intended to see the race for the new Minis on the racetrack, but after a start failure, I miss the race because of the event ‘Improve your skills 2’ that I had tickets to. At the event you got to try the cars breaking capacity by reversing, steering, breaking and then trying to get back on track forward again. Stay for the ‘Special Night of Rock’ and see Paul Weller perform before I give up for the day”

Here are the links for the places Ingemar visits in part two:
Silverstone
Northamptonshire
Buckinghamshire
Stowe Gardens
Bletchley Park Museum
Towcester Racecourse
Stoke Bruerne
Stoke Bruerne Canal Museum

 

2 Comments

Filed under Accommodation, England, Nature & Heritage, Sports & Activities

2 responses to “Classic Britain – A winners travel tale, Part Two

  1. David Bainbridge

    Bletchley Park is open and is worth visiting. Here is the website: http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/

  2. Towe

    Hi David,

    Thank you for that, we have also linked to the museums visitors page in the links below Ingemars text.

    Cheers,
    Towe
    VisitBritain

Leave a Reply

