Classic Britain – A winners travel tale, Part One

Classic Mini in front of a limestone cottage

Classic Mini in front of cottage

This spring VisitBritain had a campaign to get more Scandinavians to visit Britain. The campaign Classic Britain, was designed to help tourists find travel tips to more classic parts of Britain. You could also win a trip to MINI Coopers 50 year anniversary at Silverstone Circuit, with a MINI rental car and DFDS Seaways boat tickets to get there. The Swedish winner, Ingemar Eriksson, tells his tale about his adventures in Classic Britain. Here is the first part of the trip:

”I won the trip while I was in Norway on a job. One week later I was supposed to go on a two week holiday in France and that only gave me a few days to repack before leaving for England. Because of this my planning wasn’t very good, but I knew there was always something I could see and do in England.

I picked up the car at BMW in Solna, Stockholm on May 15, and my first impression was that the cabriolet was a bit noisy, an impression that fortunately changed during the trip.

St Botolph's Priory ruins

St Botolph's Priory ruins

I met two Minis on in the queue behind me, while boarding. They were from a Swedish Mini association in Stockholm, so we spoke a little about our cars. I slept most of the trip, a quite relaxing and calm voyage. Over breakfast (109 DKK), I had another conversation with one of the Mini owners, who was also going to the festival.

On May 19, I took of for England and arrived at Kolding in Denmark with three hours to spare before the boat left from Esbjerg. This gave me an opportunity to take a nice drive through South of Denmark. A great added value by taking the car!

After leaving the boat, I take a quick drive through the town of Harwich, before leaving for Colchester. Colchester is the size of Uppsala in Sweden, but sales of luxury cars seems to be ten times that since there was huge stores selling, not only Minis, but Porches, Bentleys, Ferraris and Maseratis.

In Colchester I stop to buy a map, and when I’m leaving I totally forget the left-hand traffic and I almost drive on the wrong side of a safety island. After learning the hard way, the left-hand traffic is no longer a problem.

After reading about Dedham in the Streiffert-guide, I decide to visit the city. However, I drive in the wrong direction and end up in Chappel, where I visit the East Anglian Railway Museum. After the detour, I take a better look at the map and find Dedham, a beautiful place where I took the Constable Walk, where we stopped at Flatford Mill(National Trust). The Constable Walk is a great nature experience that deserves more time than I gave it. Finally I ended up in Cambridge where I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast.”

This was the end of part one. If you would like to visit the places Ingemar Eriksson went to on the first parts of his trip, here are some good links to check out:

Constable  walk, Flatford

Constable walk, Flatford

Colchester
Chappel
East Anglian Railway Museum
Denham
Denham 2
Constable walk
Flatford Mill

1 Comment

Filed under England, Nature & Heritage

One response to “Classic Britain – A winners travel tale, Part One

Leave a Reply

