Gairloch, well worth a visit!

Gairloch

As a true fan of the south of England with it’s green rolling hills,  I must admit that my expectations of the North of Scotland was… well, like Norway, my home country. High mountains, beautiful fjords and sparsely populated. I was right about this but my was I surprised to see such beautiful beaches!! I took the image above, when driving west from Inverness towards the pretty town Gairloch, and the North Sea opened up with this stunning beach.

It reminds me a bit of the Biscaya Bay in northern Spain. The town of Gairloch has some nice Bed&Breakfast and if you follow the road through the town to the square at the opposite side of the bay, you’ll find a cosy café with sandwiches and tasty cakes. Well worth a visit!

Cathrine

Leave a comment

Filed under Accommodation, Scotland, Sports & Activities

Leave a Reply

